Juxtaposition: Diversity’s Consequences

Andy Rutledge, excellent social conservative and rather poor satirist:

Diversity defined as applying to race or gender or sexual orientation condescendingly assumes these qualities entirely define the person in question, and constitutes a sexist, racist, homophobic attack on individual dignity and sovereignty. Tripe.

These idiots will do great harm to the tech and design professions unless intelligent, moral, and thoughtful people recognize their destructive effort for what it is and call them out publicly. I’m doing my part here.

David Peter on his experience at Hacker School (via @maxjacobson):

batch[3]‘s balanced gender ratio didn’t seem like a huge deal at the time. It just felt normal, really. But the Monday after Hacker School ended, I checked the student lists for my upcoming college classes on a whim. There is only one girl in each of my Computer Science classes.

That’s when I started thinking. The gender ratio was one of the small things that contributed to how natural life at Hacker School seemed. How much more real the world seemed. I had felt normal for one of the very first times in my life. I couldn’t help thinking, this is how it should be. This is the way the world should be.

Leave a Reply

